current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

-
2005-11-29 - 5:22 p.m.

Book # 43 is McSweeney�s Mammoth Treasury of Thrilling Tales. I read another anthology from this series earlier this year (Book #2 for those keeping track) and so I had really high hopes for this one. Sigh. I was disappointed. Some of the stories were very good; my favorite was a story about the author writing the story for the anthology. It sounds boring, but was really good. But several were way too long for the story they were trying to tell and the language was so bizarre and convoluted in a few of them that it just didn�t make any kind of sense. For one of them that was sort of the point, but it was so bass aakwards it just defeated the purpose. Well, it is published as a fund raiser for 826 Valencia, so at least that was positive. These are becoming quarterly things, so hopefully the next one will be better.

It has been a long day already and it isn�t over yet. We�ve just been getting a lot of dumb calls, but, hey, �tis the season of idiots throwing Christmas parties. At least we make money. I never feel bad charging these folks for every tiny thing, unlike the super poor theater companies. I feel a little bad for them and cut them little breaks sometimes, if they�re nice to me. Not the Christmas people. Very Grinchy of me, I know.

I need to lock up now, so I have to go. See? It�s so busy it took me four hours to write the little paragraph above. Hee.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�