current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Day 2
2007-11-03 - 8:18 p.m.

OK, well I should post something before I forget. I have a feeling it'll be midnight before I know it and I don't want to screw this up on the second day.

Well, day one of tech is finished. I'm still nowhere near ready to open, but at the same time I can see the bones of a pretty good design showing. This building gives me a lot of trouble, it really just wasn't designed by a theater person at all. Right now my biggest problem is that the hole cut into the ceiling for the AP pipe is way too narrow,it needs to be at least two feet wider, because in order to tilt the lights up high enough to actually, oh, light the stage, the top of the beam is cut off by the ceiling so I get this second horizon line about halfway up the cyc. Not to mention that also means the front light doesn't reach as high and my tall actors are getting the tops of their heads cut off. Grrrrrr.

Anyway, other than that there hasn't been time for much. I've been having a lot of trouble sleeping, unfortunately, so I'm way more tired that I would like to be at the start of a tech week. I'm sitting here wondering if the better part of valor is to stay here and program the board late or go home, get some sleep and come back at the ass crack of dawn tomorrow. The second is what I'm leaning towards now, but at the same time I know how I am and I will not want to get up early tomorrow. Bah, maybe I can split the difference, give it another hour or so now and then come in sorta early tomorrow. It's really only 45 cues or something like that, so it shouldn't be too hard. I just sorta wish I had actors or something- Our Town has seriously no set so it's hard to get an idea of how things will look because I am lighting a freaking empty stage. Looking at the floor is a bad guesstimator for intensity. Other than my front wash, though, I'm happy with the systems; they're all pretty even and the colors look good, so that's a good start. I need more gel for the cyc, but that's ok. I also need to figure out how to stop blowing breakers on the cyc, but that's another story.


EH, no one wants to read about this boring crap. Instead, go here.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�