current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

For Richer, For Poorer...
2007-07-17 - 4:48 p.m.

I have 45 minutes before the end of the day. A very long 45 minutes. I have finished everything I have to do that�s deadline based for the day and the long-term stuff is really, really boring and I don�t want to do it.

My car has been in the shop for over a week now. I should get it back tomorrow or maybe Thursday. It�s a stupid expensive repair that came about because of very unlucky circumstances. Basically it overheated (faulty valve, not lack of maintenance) at a time when it would have been stupidly unsafe for me to pull over so I ended up doing quite a bit of damage to the engine while trying to get to a safe place to stop. Suck. I�ve sort of come to terms with it, though. I just keep repeating, �It�s only money. It doesn�t really matter.� Which, yes it does, because it�s a lot of money that I don�t have, but it�s ok, because I�m going to get a ton of frequent flyer miles out of it.

The outdoor shows I�ve been working on are up and running in their final locale, which is good, I can finally let those go out of my brain. I�m pretty happy with them overall, though if they ask me back next year there are defiantly a few things I�ll do differently. This is the first time I�ve really designed an outdoor performance and I�ve found they have a few quirks to them, mostly the amount of light you lose to the atmosphere is a lot more than you first think it�ll be. Also, folks don�t get to come indoors and adjust their eyes to interior light before the show starts, they are staring from outdoor daylight and gradually progressing into darkness, which is different as far as perceived intensity levels go. So, yeah, it�s good, but not great, and I know I can do better next time.

My grandparents haven�t been doing the best, health wise, but they�re on the mend. My grandpa had surgery on his legs which was successful. It was risky because his heart isn�t the strongest, but he pulled through fabulously. My grandma is also just generally not feeling so great. The doctors are figuring out the best way to help her, but it�s still a little hazy what exactly is wrong. They might have to move into an assisted living situation, depending how it works out. My grandpa is fine with that as long as they can stay together, which is looking very possible so that�s positive. Basically, it�s a bit of a grey area right now, but it�ll work out the way it needs to. That�s how life works.

My sister is engaged. That�s good news. Her boyfriend is a really nice guy and they match each other pretty well, so that is also an awesome thing. No word on when exactly the wedding will be, probably some time in the next year. I�ll be honest, 95% of the time I have no issue whatever with my little sister getting married first. 5% of the time, though, it does sting a little bit, mostly just because I�ve been spending a lot of time questioning exactly where I�m going and what I�m trying to accomplish, I think. That�ll pass, though, I know it will. The important thing is that she�s happy, and she is.

Fifteen minutes to go. Oh man, do I just really want to leave right now. It�s way too sunny to just sit at a desk and look out the window.

Tonight I go home and do chores. Very exciting, I know, but it is time. I�ve put off laundry and room straightening for too long and it�s starting to get out of hand.

Anyway, I think it�s time to wrap up and get ready to head home.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�