current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Bizarre Happenings
2007-04-30 - 3:47 p.m.

So, a funny thing happened early yesterday morning. A gas tanker crashed, caught fire and melted the Mac Arthur maze. It was so hot it melted the steel holding the freeway together and caused the overpass to collapse. Amazingly, not a single person died. The driver was the only person injured and he escaped with second degree burns. Thank heaven for small mercies. That is one of the most heavily traveled sections of freeway during the commute hours. It could have been so much worse. I�m still boggled, though, that a freeway melted. According to the news the fire was burning at somewhere around 3,000 degrees. That is amazing. I feel so badly for the driver. He seems like such a nice guy and he walked a mile and a half before he was able to find a cab that took him to the hospital. Sweet baby Jesus, that is insane.

So, the next situation there is that there is a steel shortage at this point. Caltrans is saying it could take anywhere from six weeks to six months to just get the building materials to fix the overpass, let alone actually fix it and get it open and running again. It will be interesting to see what happens from here. Traffic was really light today, pretty much anyone who could find any excuse not to go through there did and I have a feeling quite a few took BART as well. After a week or so, though, folks are going to get really tired of having to find other ways around. There is obviously no solution, I�m just curious to see how it�ll go.

In less news worthy events, I spent the weekend, well, mostly Sunday, rearranging my bedroom. It is so much better now. Seriously, it is cleaner than it has been in years and there is so much more floor space and everything just flows so much better. I can use both doors for my closet, and my flat file is able to open all the way and I can walk all around both sides of the bed. The printer is no longer in a place where it becomes the default bed side table. I hauled out three bags of stuff that I need to take to Goodwill, three bags of garbage, and four or five bins of recycling. I did a serious purge and it felt really good. I would have never gotten it finished without The Ex�s help (apparently becoming friends with your exes has its perks. Who knew?). He has a much better sense of spatial relationships than I do so he was able to help figure out the best way to use the space. He also helped move all the heavy crap, which was really helpful too, as well as spending a good portion of the day saying, �Seriously, throw it out or give it away, but you don�t need that. Get rid of it now.� I feel this giant weight gone from my life in the form of a functional room. I even have an �office corner� which is nice considering I can�t really have all of my desk/ computer/ theater crap in another room as long as I have to have a roommate. All that�s left is to go through the closet and deal with a few orphans that don�t have a home yet. I will be doing that tonight.

What else will I be doing tonight? Going to pilates and yoga. Well, at least yoga, I might not make it home in time to get to pilates. I finally have my evenings back which mean I am bound and determined to go to the gym regular like again. I�m losing some of my bendy-ness and that is bad, so I�m starting up with yoga first, then a bit of a push to lose the few pounds I�ve gained recently. It is so nice to have some time to myself again, for a little while, anyway.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�