current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

What Do You Mean 'Choose One?'
2006-09-07 - 12:29 p.m.

OK, I was tagged a little while ago for this but I have been caught up in the Fringe Festival so I�m just now getting to it (Please note how so many of them say ONE book and I found that to be completely impossible.):

1.One book that changed your life?
I�m never good at these things. I don�t have one book that stands out like that. I know Damien by Hesse really made me stop and think about things in a different light. The Ghost in the Atom by P. C. W. Davies and Julian R. Brown also flipped my world over in a science way, but not a philosophical one. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho is also one that really made me stop. I really wish I could learn to live like the protagonist in that one. That is a powerful book.

2. One book you have read more than once?
I read a lot of books more than once. I think I�ve read The Hobbit by Tolkin six or seven times. It�s sort of my go-to �it�s gonna be a long day with lots of random waiting� book. Plus my paperback copy fits in my purse. I�ve also read Alice in Wonderland by Carol and Lilith by George MacDonald more times than I can count.

3. One book you would want on a desert island?
How to Survive on a Desert Island Heh, I know that�s not the point. Again, I suck at picking my �favorite� anything. I know, my complete collection of Grimm�s Fairytales. That�s what I would want.

4. One book that made you laugh?
Running With Scissors by Augusten Burroughs it�s sort of a �you gotta laugh or you�re gonna cry� sort of laughter, but you get the feeling that�s how Burroughs made it through that part of his life anyway, so it fits. Also Everybody into the Pool by Beth Lisick

5. One book that made you cry?
As we all know I cry at the drop of a hat, so there are too many to count. Watership Down by Richard Adams managed to hit me pretty hard, though. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston also left me in a big gooey puddle on the floor, though if you read that and didn�t cry? You must be a robot or something because you are not human.

6. One book you wish had been written?
The Secrets of the Universe and How You Fit in It. That really isn�t too much to ask for, now is it?

7. One book you wish had never had been written?
Great Expectations by Charles Dickens Yes, I know it is very �important� but it is also boring as hell; and yet I�ve had to read it three times so far in the course of my education.

8. One book you are currently reading?
Love in the Time of Cholera, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. So far, amazing book. I recently read Memories of my Melancholy Whores and I fell in love with his writing style.

9. One book you have been meaning to read?
I can�t really think of one right now. There are a few I think I �should� read, but don�t really want to, so those don�t count. I keep meaning to read Nabakov in general, but always forget when I�m actually in one of the places I procure books. I�m really so bad at this, I�m the same way about music. I�ll hear about a book or an album that sounds really good, and I want to buy it, but then when the time comes and I�m in the shop and I need to find what I want I completely forget all the things I�ve been thinking sound interesting.

10. Tag 5 people
Hmm, well lets have English Teacher Jen try this one out, NikkiD, Sarita (if Daisy gives her a long enough break), Arweena, and Deb. (You all don�t really have to if you don�t want to, of course.)

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�