current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Quit Yer Whinin'
2006-08-11 - 4:47 p.m.

I was looking at my older entry stuff and I realized that I have been rather remiss at updating lately. Basically, the long and short of it is that I am sick of complaining. I know not every entry I put here is full of complaining, but sometimes that takes quite a bit of effort and there have been a couple of times I�ve been halfway through an entry and just deleted the whole thing because even I�m sick of listening to myself. I also have a few things going on that I�m really not comfortable throwing up on the Internets for all to see, so I�m trying to come up with other things to talk about, but it�s kind of hard to do that because consciously not thinking about something can sometimes be more difficult than reaching Nirvana. I don�t even know why I really feel the need to put up an explanation, maybe it�s just for myself so I can have it in writing somewhere, but there you go.

I forgot to add two movies to the list (and I need them! I�m falling way behind!) Movie #24 is Kiss Kiss Bang Bang directed by Shane Black. I really liked it, it just sort of goes and you just go with it. It�s sort of a noir satire kind of thing. I could take or leave the girl, but Val Kilmer and Robert Downey Jr. are a lot of fun to watch. �Badly�s an adverb, idiot. Who taught you grammar?�

I saw Madea�s Family Reunion the same night, so that�s movie #25. I would have liked it a lot more if Madea had actually had significant screen time. The whole sister plotline thing was so melodrama it just bugged me. I do like Madea�s solution for what to do to an abusive spouse, though when it plays out I can�t help but think, �Girl, you weigh maybe 90 lbs. You hit him, good for you, he�s had it coming this whole time, but now you need to RUN because there is no way he isn�t getting up. RUN and call the police.� The out takes from that same scene, though are priceless. Hmm, that stuff may be skirting into spoiler territory, but I figure I�m not really ruining anything and anyone else who reads this who wanted to see it has probably done so.

I also watched the first Pirates of the Caribbean that night, but it�s something like the 20th time I�ve seen it, so I can�t count it here.

I need to go to the movies more often. I like going to the theater and I�ve never had qualms about going by myself, I just haven�t been lately. Partly because it is �spensive, but I could still go more often than I do. Will I be able to watch 35 movies before the end of the year, though? That is the real question.

I really wish I could stop the strange dreams I�ve been having. I do not like them, especially when my friends end up in prison like the last one or when they do not so nice things to me like in the most recent one. I wake up all freaked out and I may as well never have fallen asleep because I am no more rested than I was the night before.

Oh, and Project Runway. I am so very, very happy Michael won this challenge. I love him. I have a big ol� crush on him and I think he is an amazing designer and technician I hate hot pants, but I LOVED his hot pants. I want him to live in my house and look cute, and make me pants and say awesome things like �I ain�t trying to be all Captain Save-a-ho or anything.� I also really liked Kayne�s dress, but Michael�s outfit was just plain hot and it was built better. It didn�t get a whole lot of attention, but I also liked Alison�s Farrah dress. It was very cute and I thought she did a good job on the updating part of the challenge.

As for Angela, I didn�t like her dress. I now the judges did, but I thought it looked kinda weird and lumpy. I didn�t like her �granny circles� at the waist. I actually didn�t mind the ones around the bottom, but the ones at the waist were way too much on top of the already hugely textured fabric.

Poor Bradley. I really liked him, too, but come on now. Seriously, how does a man live on this planet for 30 years and know nothing about CHER. It�s mother f-ing Cher. At the very least he should know the Bob Mackie Oscar Dress (the first one). If nothing else he should know that no self respecting hippie/ rockstar/ techno queen would be caught dead in his Buck Rogers reject outfit. I will be fair and say Cher would be more difficult than some of the others if only because the challenge is: Update Cher. OK, which Cher? Sonny and Cher? Gypsies Tramps and Thieves Cher? Moonstruck Cher? Straddling a missile launcher in a fishnet bodystocking Cher? Bob Mackie Cher? Cher right now? She has updated herself so many times and over so many years it could be a bit overwhelming, but there is no excuse not to know at least one of those incarnations. Sigh. It really seemed to me like he just sort of gave up last week and just couldn�t rally himself back into this, you know? It�s too bad.

I am really hungry today. I have yogurt for lunch, but I really don�t think that�s going to cut it. Maybe soup. That sounds pretty good. There is a place near work that makes really good minestrone soup. The only problem is when I go there I always want to order breadsticks too. They are soooooooo good, but soooooooo bad for me. They are basically just pizza dough in stick form, so it�s just empty, processed carbs. But they are deliciously tasty and filling empty processed carbs. It�s also a bit more than I should be spending right now. In fact I shouldn�t be spending anything on lunch right now, which is why I brought yogurt, but I think my stomach will eat itself if I don�t eat more than that. I have zero will power.

See? Complaining again.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�