current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Sixteen going on Seventeen
2006-06-27 - 5:08 p.m.

I have two new movies to add. #16 is In Her Shoes directed by Curtis Hanson. I liked it, it really wasn�t a �chick flick� and Shirley MacLaine really is a good actress. Man, she just blows Cameron Diaz out of the water. Toni Colette manages to hold her own because she is that fabulous, but everybody�s favorite understudy really carries the piece. It�s funny, though, how this movie in a way points out how warped Hollywood is. At the beginning, there is all this talk about how fat and unattractive Toni�s character is, and while she is very frumpy and dowdy, the whole time I�m looking at her and I think back to Muriel�s Wedding and how she was the �frumpy fat girl� in that movie too, only in that movie she actually was chunky. In this one I just kept thinking, �Um, fat? Really? Huh, no. We�ve seen chunky Toni Colette, and this ain�t it. She�s got a nice little rig here, it�s just covered up.� So, yeah. But other than that I really liked how it dealt with the sister relationship, and while if my sister did some of the things to me that Daiz does to Colette she would really have a hard time walking out of the room, I still understand the sentiment of how the relationship works, theirs is just bizarrely extreme. I am also so very glad to see Toni Colette in more mainstream movies. Love her.

Then #17 is Kill Bill: Vol. 1 directed by Quentin Tarantino. I had not seen it before (last person on earth, I know) but I liked it. I liked the fight choreography, I liked the psudo 70�s feel of it, and some of the camera work was awesome. There were some really beautiful pictures in the film. I had a few quibbles with some of the visual choices, mostly dealing with how some of the gore was dealt with, I really liked the lack of realism, but there were a few times where it was just a bit overboard. Anyway, I�m looking forward to Vol. 2 to see how it ends up. Though I have to ask, does any one else think that the majority of Tarantino�s career has been a backlash of him going through Elementary and Middle school with the name �Quentin?� Just asking.

Tonight I go and plan my next semester. I don�t know what my goals are for it yet, we shall see. I really need to get off my butt and work on some of the things I said I wanted to work on over the summer. It�s already July!

Oy. Head full of mucus. Feels like it weighs fifty pounds. Summer colds suck.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�