current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Rooooooomba!
2006-05-31 - 5:03 p.m.

Well, I got the set painted this weekend. It meant I did nothing else, except for drinks with my girl N Monday night (staying out way too late) and a birthday dinner at Millenium (very tasty, too pricey for everyday consumption, but very good for a treat. Deeelicious deserts and perfectly cooked rissoto) for another lovely friend. So, no sleeping in, which kinda pissed my body off, I think I need a good rest. Didn�t I just go on vacation in April? Damn.

I actually think part of the problem there is the girl who lives downstairs. She is four and her bedroom is right underneath mine. She has also decided recently that she doesn�t like her bedtime (which is about a half hour before mine) so, she decides the best way to get her mom and grandparents to pay attention to her plight is to SCREAM AT THE TOP OF HER LUNGS UNTIL SOMEONE COMES INTO THE ROOM. Yeah. If they still ignore her, or tell her to stop screaming, she starts this fake crying �Whaaaahhhhhhhhhhhh- ehhhhhhhhhhh� thing that is just loud enough to keep me awake. A few times this has gone on until 2 or 3 in the morning. One fateful night she didn�t stop until 5am. I slept on the living room sofa that night. She usually stops around 12:30 or so. This is still an hour and a half after I want to be asleep. It is also frickin� annoying. I�ve tried playing the radio to drown it out, and that helps, especially the fake crying, though nothing covers the shrieks, but I actually have trouble falling asleep with the radio on as well. I can�t wear earplugs, because then I won�t hear my alarm clock, and that is a really bad scene. I�m not really sure what to do now, I don�t want to call the cops or anything, they are very nice people overall and really good neighbors in every other respect. I know they are obviously not doing this on purpose to make my life hell, and I can hear them trying to get her to quiet down, so they aren�t completely ignoring the situation, but at the same time, I really should be able to sleep at 11 at night in my own bedroom. I don�t have children for many reasons, and this is one of them. I keep thinking I will talk to the grandfather, who usually leaves for work at the same time I do, but I haven�t seen him lately (Possibly because I�ve had a hard time getting out the door on schedule because I�m SO FREAKING TIRED) and at the same time, what the hell do I tell him? �Could you put a muzzle on that brat?� He knows she�s really bloody loud. He�s apologized before for a few choice tantrums. I don�t even know what I would do if I had a kid that started pulling that, especially since the last I heard drugging them or getting them liquored up is frowned upon in most circles. Hopefully it is a phase that will pass very, very soon. I�m tempted to try putting area rugs down to see if that deadens the noise at all, but that means buying rugs and then having to vacuum them.

Speaking of vacuuming, I just bought my very first Roomba from Woot! I am so very excited; I found one that is pretty much the newest model (there may be one newer version) for cheaper than I ever saw the base model. I have wanted one for a very long time, so yes, I know exactly what the base model costs at Bed Bath & Beyond. It will arrive in about a week. I can�t wait! I�m going to go home and start tying up the phone cords tonight. I�m going to clear all the big crap from under my bed so it can clean there too. I really can�t afford it right now, but I will never find it for this cheap again, so, well, I�m weak. What can I say? Yay Roomba!

I�ve been invited to hear some good music on Friday and I�m trying to decide if I should go or not. It would be a ton of fun, and I know I would really have a good time and see folks I would love to see, but it might also be really nice to just go to bed early and sleep in a bit until it�s time to go to the wedding shower I�m going to on Saturday. I have a few days to think about it.

I usually have a pretty good sense of time. Today it is totally thrown. I looked at the clock and it is already 3:30!

OK, now it is 5 and it is time to go.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�