current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

I Rock.
2005-12-28 - 12:55 p.m.

People, I did it. 50 books in less that 52 weeks. Excuse me while I do a little celebration dance. Wooo!

I was getting a little nervous I wouldn�t be able to do it. I was so slow at the start of the year, but then I had a lot more time, and to be honest I started keeping a book in my purse to read on the bus and at slow points during crew calls, so that picked the pace up.

So, I know everyone is just dying for a recap of the books so here is THE LIST:

1. Kushiel's Dart by Jacqueline Carey
2. McSweeny�s Enchanted Chamber of Astonishing Stories, edited by Michael Chabon
3. The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri
4. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
5. Running With Scissors by Augusten Burroughs
6. To the Last Man I Slept With and All the Jerks Just Like Him by Gwendolyn Zepeda
7. The Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri
8. The Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon
9. Freakonomics by Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner
10. Roald Dahl�s Book of Ghost Stories
11. The Time Traveler�s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
12. Skin and Other Stories by Roald Dahl
13. Mysteries of the Deep South.
14. Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld
15. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
16. I�m Not the New Me. by Wendy McClure
17. One Flew Over the Cuckoo�s Nest by Dale Wasserman
18. Zorro: A Novel by Isabel Allende
19. Seductress by Betsy Prioleau
20. Giesha, a Life by Mineko Iwasaki
21. The Book of Everyday Oracles by Lon Milo DuQuette
22. Middlesex by Jeffery Eugenides
23. The Queen�s Fool by Philipa Gregory
24. The Loss of Leon Mead by Josh Emmons
25. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling
26. Sex, Drugs, and Coco Puffs by Chuck Klosterman
27. A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book the Second: The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket
28. The Inheritance
29. The Red Tent by Anita Diamont
30. The Snow Fox by Susan Fromberg Schaefer
31. The Queen of the Big Time by Adriana Trigiani
32. Grendel by John Gardner
33. Iron and Silk by Mark Salzman
34. The Books of Blood, Volume One by Clive Barker
35. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Kid
36. The Prince by Machiavelli
37. Redwall by Brian Jacques
38. Cruel Sacrifice by Aphrodite Jones
39. Gulliver�s Travels by Jonathan Swift
40. Mirror, Mirror by Gregory Maguire
41. Bobos in Paradise: The New Upper Class and How They Got There by David Brooks
42. Morality for Beautiful Girls by Alexander McCall Smith
43. McSweeney�s Mammoth Treasury of Thrilling Tales. Edited by Michael Chabon
44. The Sunday Philosophy Club by Alexander McCall Smith
45. The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith
46. A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggars
47. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
48. The Magician�s Nephew by C. S. Lewis
49. Bollywood Confidential by Sonia Singh
50. Eragon by Christopher Paolini

So, as for the last two, Bollywood Confidential is really pretty dumb. There were a few cute parts and characters, but it�s one step up from a bodice ripper, honestly. Granted, I sort of figured this out before I bought it, and I was looking for light and fluffy, and, well, I got what I asked for, that�s for sure.

Eragon is a story about a boy and his dragon. It is actually quite good. The whole thing that got this book so much attention was that it was written by a fifteen-year-old boy. While the story is quite good, by the writing style you can tell the author was very young. He�s very talented, but there was a sort of naivet� to the language and some of the characters. I�m interested to see how his style progresses, as he gets older and gets a firmer grip on the language and writes more books for the series. The other, sort of cute thing about the book is reading it you can see that he is a total Tolkien fanatic, some elements are all but lifted clean out of the Lord of the Rings. It�s done in a cute, idealizing way, though, not in a short cut, copycat way. I have no idea if that makes sense, but that�s my story and I�m sticking to it.

Christmas has come and gone. It was nice. Rather quiet this year, actually. Not as many people as usual, even at St. Steven�s Day. I was able to invite the Dynamic Duo and the Amazing Squirmy this year, which was totally awesome. I�ve never had any of my friends at the annual shindig, it�s usually my parent�s friends and my family, but since they were in town and my folks wanted to see them too, along they came. It was great. Squirmy was a hit and a half. You have ever seen a friendlier, happier toddler. She would play with and talk to everyone and she never once got fussy, not even when she was so tired she could barely hold her head up.

My parents gave me a Cuisinart for Christmas. Awesome. When I still lived with them I used to use my mom�s all the time. It just makes so much stuff so much easier. Now I can make the patented family Banana Smoothie again. I need to buy some bananas. My Grandpa gave me money to buy new shoes. The last time a saw him I was wearing my tennashoes and they are all ratty with broken laces and holes and covered in paint. So he wants me to buy new ones. So I did. I went to Sports Basement last night and found and awesome pair on the sale rack, so I got really good shoes for really cheap. Go me.


when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�