current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Blind as a Bat
2005-08-18 - 5:06 p.m.

Whenever I open the document to start an entry I wonder what the hell I�m going to talk about this time. Very rarely do I have anything planned.

So, I made a pretty bad mistake. I forgot all about jury duty. Now I have to go down and reschedule it. Now, I don�t have a problem with jury duty, per se. It�s part of our job as members of a democracy. Also, I figure if I�m a good girl and go when I�m supposed to, then should I ever be on the other side of the jury box (God forbid) karma will pay me back and I will get a jury of good, smart folks and not unemployed doofuses and bored grannies looking for entertainment and gossip to spread at the hairdressers�. The only thing is, my employer doesn�t pay me for jury duty past one day and any other time I spend at the courthouse gets docked from my check. I can�t afford to lose too many days or my rent doesn�t get paid, also, since we are only open from 8am-5pm it isn�t like I can just switch shifts with someone. We shall see. I haven�t had a judge give me a hard time about this yet. Granted, the last time I was called for an actual jury, it was a six week trial and I was working freelance on an eight week contract. The judge really can�t tell you that you have to quit your job so you can help decide if some guy committed medical malpractice for $10 a day. I was glad I didn�t have to be on that one anyway. A case like that would be hard for me, how do you really know if a doctor knowingly made a mistake? I mean, unless you have a tape of him telling another doctor how badly he screwed up and hee hee, wasn�t it funny? It would just be hard. Straight forward cases, did he rob the bank? Well, there he is on the surveillance tape, robbing the bank, so I would say, yes, it looks like he did. Those are much easier. Anyway, I need to go reschedule for that.

I also need to get new glasses. Apparently, I have had a pretty major under correction going on for a while now. That doesn�t mean anything too horrible, according to my doc it�s pretty common amongst folks with eyes like mine. For a lot of people it�s just more comfortable and your brain fills in the blanks on its own. Well, we have no discovered that I have been doing that, and I might consider sticking with it, except that I can�t read street signs. Like REALLY can�t read them. When the doc gave me what my new prescrip. would be I looked out the window and could read the sign a block down. I think it�s worth the adjustment period for that. The adjustment period is going to suck, though. Probably won�t be able to drive for a day or two and I�m going to stock up on Tylenol now. When I get new glasses with just a small change my depth perception is completely out of wack for a day or two. Through my eyes it sort of looks like how it looks when you�re one drink past the line from �buzzed� into �drunk,� only without the foggy hearing. You can see everything just fine, but where it is exactly is a bit of a mystery. Is that just me? OK then, moving on. It�s going to be worse than normal this time. It�s ok, though. That which does not kill us makes us stronger, right? Though if you see some idiot fall off a curb next week, it�s probably me.

My deadline to have my drafting done for Cuckoo�s Nest has been moved up a week. Eeep! I need to get cracking. Basically, I need to stop waffling and just sit down and do it, for better or for worse. I can always change stuff if it isn�t working. I may need to buy new paints as well. I was looking at the ones I have and I don�t think any of the greens I have will work and I don�t think I�ll be able to mix the color I want from what I have either. Oh well, I guess I�ll just have to go spend money at Flax . Darn it all.

That�s all. I need to go grocery shopping now and figure out what to eat for dinner. Maybe I�ll just eat ice cream.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�