current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Mid-holiday update
2005-07-04 - 3:07 a.m.

Books 20 and 21 finished. Book 20 is Giesha, a Life by Mineko Iwasaki. So good. It's an autobiography and she is so funny and self aware it makes the book just great. It is the autobiography of the "number one Geisha in Kyoto" during the 50's and 60's. It is a very interesting look at the geisha culture and the general Japanese culture. I liked it, and it is a very fast read which was nice after the last book. Book 21 is The Book of Everyday Oracles by Lon Milo DuQuette. This is a funny little book a friend gave me as a sort of, well, not a joke exactly, but in fun. It has several different ways of fortune telling using things from around the house. My personal favorites are the Shakespeare Oracle and the Mark Twain Oracle but the one using solitare games is good too. I am kind of of a mixed mind about fortune telling and whether it is for real or not and it is too complex in my brain to go into right now, but the book was good, giving lots of good, different oracles without taking itself to seriously.

See what happens when you give me a three day weekend? I spend the whole thing in bed reading books. Sadly, I'm sort of not kidding about that. I did go to the movies yesterday. I saw "Batman Begins." I enjoyed it immensly, and considering we went to three different theaters before we could get in to see it, it damn well better have been good. Katie Holmes was a bit of a weak link, but she didn't stink up the place or anything, and her part really was kinda small, so it didn't hurt the overall effect. I like Christian Bale as Batman. He reminds me very much of Michael Keaton's version, who has been my favorite up to now, but he stillmade it his own, taking Bruce Wayne and making him more foppish and spoiled but it still speaks well to the slightly eccentric businessman of the first film, say when he grew up a bit and the "party boy heir" shtick just wasn't working anymore. Anyway, long and short of it is I was entertained and it had Morgan Freeman, which always makes me happy. He is one of my all time favorite actors. In my world he can do no wrong.

OK, bed time.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�