current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

This Entry is Like A Box of Chocolates...
2005-04-12 - 8:03 p.m.

Well, sad to say, Minion is gone. I�m sad about that, but it is for the best. He had a lot of crap going on that he thought would stay on the periphery of his life that was just not doing so and I�m glad he figured out that this job wasn�t going to be a good fit now rather than 6 months from now when he was completely toast. That�s what probationary periods are for; but I liked him, so I�m sad he left. I�m now on the hunt for Minion 2.0: bigger, stronger, faster agent. We have the technology� well, we have a bunch of resumes from Craigslist, but that�s almost as good, right? I had an interview with a guy yesterday and he seemed pretty reliable and interested. He even showed up early for his interview. He�s mostly Rock and Roll, but that�s closer than what we do than most of the film folk who come in here. There is one other person we really want to see, and then we may go through the resumes again and see if we missed anything, but it�s sort of hard to find people with decent office skills and at least a basic knowledge of our gear. Harder than I thought it would be, anyway.

Hmmm, well, I�m not really sure I should put this on the internet, but hey, if it pisses someone off I�ll just pull it. My sister, who is a very good person that I love a lot, just got her driver�s license back after her second DUI less than a month ago, and Friday she was driving to school when she was hit�by a beer truck. She is perfectly fine, a little sore, but nothing permanent, but the car is totaled. He hit her form the side and pushed the car through a fence. Yes, through the fence, not into. As I said, though, she is fine, which is why I�m allowing myself to see the sit-comesque humor in this. Of all things, a beer truck hits her. I think the cosmos may be trying to tell someone something. That, or my sister has a guardian angel with a sick sense of humor. Granted, that would be most of my family (proven by this entry here), living or dead, so that is entirely possible.

You know, it�s probably because of the movie, but I feel like I�m being bombarded by The Hitchhiker�s Guide to the Universe lately. I�ve never read it, and I really seem to be in the minority. It makes me feel like I should put it on my book list, and I probably should read it before I see the movie, but I don�t know. I hear it�s very good, and I don�t discount that, but when there is something that I �should� read because it�s just so damn awesome, I know it isn�t going to live up to it. I call it �Forrest Gump Syndrome.� I didn�t see that movie right away when it came out, I don�t remember why, but after hearing for 6 months or so how completely awesome it was and that it was a 20th Century Masterpiece, blah, blah I figured I should see it. I didn�t really think it was that great. I mean, it was good, I enjoyed it, but it was NOTHING like what it was being made out to be. People were talking like it was the first movie to ever use a rock soundtrack (um, sorry, Easy Rider gets that honor.) or it�s the first one to ever track the times a person lived through (I can�t think of another one off the top of my head, but I know it�s been done.) and that just isn�t true. It may have done it better than most, but it wasn�t as revolutionary as people were making it out to be. So, Forest Gump Syndrome is when media and popular hype so outpace the product there is no way it can live up to expectations. That happens a lot to me and I think it will happen this time too, especially because I�m not really in a Sci-Fi kinda mood right now (�but, it�s really not a�� I know, but it�s close enough for my mindset.). So, I�m a little torn. I think I�ll see if I can find a copy used and cheap at Green Apple or something and just let it float around the house until the mood strikes me. I�ll probably end up reading it in bits and spurts and that�s ok. I have a couple of plane rides coming up and I think this will be just the thing for those.

Anyhoo, I think it�s time for me to finish this, as I have run out of things to say.


when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�