current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Things That Make You Go Hmmmm..
2005-03-24 - 11:06 a.m.

So, I'm not sure why there are a bunch of %% symbols at the top of the page here, but for now I'm just going to leave them. They're starting to grow on me.

Anyway, I started this entry yesterday but didn't really get a chance to turn it into anything so if it seems a bit disjointed, that would be why.

I�m in sort of a funk right now. I do realize this has sort of been a theme here, but hey, my diary, so there. Yes, I am six, why do you ask? Anyway, back to my point. I sort of feel like I somehow backed myself into a corner and I don�t know how to get myself out especially because I don�t know how I got in. Life has just sort of been flying by while I do my thing and suddenly, stuck. Like when you get on the freeway in a new city and traffic is heavy and the merge is shorter than you thought, and you�re just stuck trying to get into the flow. I�m not really tired or anything, I�ve gotten over my cold (right in time for allergy season!) so that isn�t it. It�s not even that I feel like I�m spinning my wheels, that requires some action. I don�t know, it�s hard to explain. Basically when I�m talking to someone on the phone and they say, �so, what�s up with you?� I say �oh, nothing,� and I pretty much mean it. That feels sad to me. I guess I�ve just always had something to work toward, a goal that was very obvious, or at the very least, an end of the line. As in, if I just make it through one more month the season will be over and my contract will end. Right now I don�t have that, not really anyway. I have small things, like getting to the weekend or the end of the theater season, but that really won�t change much for me. A little more sleep, but that�s about it. Not that that is a small thing for me right now at all, but I think y�all know what I mean.

Minion started the other day. I think he is going to work out nicely. He�s smart and personable and he�s already figured out the computer program for the most part. Very impressive, I must say. It is also amazing how much my stress level has dropped just knowing he is here and everything isn�t all on me anymore. Someone else can answer the phone so I can finish entering the order I was working on. Someone else can greet the customer who walked through the door so I can finish the phone call I�m on. I can go to the bathroom without worrying that someone will come through the door while I�m gone. Very nice, those little things.

I feel like there should be more to say, but, alas, as I said earlier there really isn�t anything new. Arg.

Ah, there is another thing! Book #7 finished! The Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri. I picked this one up from my roommate after I finished The Namesake because I liked that one so much. This is a short story collection and also really really good. I�m really in a short story kinda groove right now. I like the format and I think it gets underestimated in the commercial book world a lot of the time. I�ve heard about another collection I should really pick up but I can�t remember the name of it right now. Helpful, aren�t I? Well, I�m sure it�ll show up here soon. The best part about short stories is I get to finish a �book� but I don�t end up staying awake until 3am just reading �one more chapter.� I am so bad about that it isn�t even funny. There have actually been times when I have gone to bed and then had to get out of bed and go to work/ class without having slept AT ALL because I stayed up all night reading a book and finished it about 15 minutes before the alarm went off. That is not pretty, let me tell you.

So, I�m going to post this now even though it is still rather early. It just feels finished so I�m not going to push it. So, there is a slight chance of two entries today. Ooooooooh.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�