current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Can We Say "Procrastination"
2005-03-13 - 12:05 a.m.

I�m so bad. I should be on top of a ladder right now but instead I�m using the booth computer to write this. This is what happens when I try to hang lights on my own. I get distracted all the time and it takes 12 times longer for me to do things than it should. It helps to fire up the sound system, but after a while I just hit a wall and don�t want to do anything else. This is why I should design and not play electrician. I will spend 5or 6 hours drafting if that�s what it takes and I�ll write cues to 3am without complaint, but hanging and cabling just makes me want to give up after 20 minutes. I think a big part of it lies with my ladder issues. Climbing up and down the ladders is hard for me mentally. Even though I�ve gotten a lot better with my ladder phobia it is still there in the back of my head and it is tiring to deal with it, even if I don�t really notice I�m doing it. I can�t wait until I get to a point when I am working for companies that have real crews and Master Electricians and I arrive when it�s time for focus. If I ever get to that point. Hell, I�ll be happy when I get to the point when I have a crew at all and I only have to be the Master Elec. Again, if I ever manage to make it to that point. Grr.

The one benefit to being here wasting time is I can use the dressing room washer and dryer. I haven�t been able to do laundry for over a month. It was getting scary, people. I have been teching for the last month straight, so ratty jeans and ugly tee shirts are ok, and my workplace isn�t exactly black tie, so it hasn�t been too bad, but at this point I�m out of socks (in fact I actually bought some the other day to get myself through. I do need new socks, though, so it wasn�t quite as bad as it seems) and I�m down to the rattiest of t shirts. Not to mention that I�m ending up being left with only white shirts/ black bras as combination options. Not something anyone wants to see, trust me. I brought two huge bags with me and I�ll probably be able to bring two more tomorrow.

So, I�m sure no one cares about my laundry (unless it�s, of course, the proverbial dirty kind), so I�ll move on. My new Minion starts next week. I am so happy! Now all I need is to get everyone else to back the fuck off for just a couple more days and my sanity will be able to return. Yay! I just hope he doesn�t get completely fed up in 6 months and run screaming naked out the door.

I was talking to some of the other folks at Theater Festival about High School reunions. My ten year is supposed to be this year. We shall see if it really happens. I did find out that one girl has started the planning process, but another gal at the theater is also having her ten year this year at the same time they�re talking about having ours and she already has an invitation. We don�t even have a set date. Yeah, that�s about what I figured. So, you may be asking, why don�t you offer to help of you have so little faith in your fellow alums? Because, really, I don�t know if I want to go or not. I didn�t really like H.S. (like so many others) and there are quite a few people who I could really live a very happy life without ever seeing again. At the same time, there are a few people who I really would like to see again, but I�m not too sure they would be all that into the whole reunion scene either. I would love to see the girl I sat next to in Junior English. During study periods we would concoct elaborate schemes to off our teacher in the most elaborate, fittingly literary way possible. Many involved guillotines a la A Tale of Two Cities or burning at the stake as in Last of the Mohicans (we had actually seen that scene of the movie in American history, but that�s ok) but my favorite involved recreating the car accident from The Great Gatsby which we read that semester. What? He was boring and he picked on the two of us for �not working up to our potential� (which we weren�t, but that�s not the point) and we were 16. There are a few other folks like that I would like to see, but I�m not sure about anyone else. Right now I�m going with a vague plan of if the date works and it isn�t too expensive, I�ll go. If it�s $75 a plate like my friend's, I�m not going to bend over backwards to make it. If it happens. I also kind of like just observing, like when you watch those nature shows on tv, to see if our group of misfits can pull it off. Does this make me a bad person?

Anyway, I need to get up early to get back here and keep working, so I should post this thing and get the hell out of here.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�