current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Hiring Blues
2005-02-09 - 4:20 p.m.

Oooooooh, two posts in one day! Fancy.

In my setting up of the interview appointments I think I have figured out why I�m so nervous about doing this. I feel like I�m setting a bunch of people up for disappointment. I think we are definitely going to interview 8 or so people but we will only hire one. That means the potential for 7 really disappointed people. Now I realize that not everyone is going to be chomping at the bit to work here, but I remember how it was when I was unemployed and how I would go to the few interviews that I went on out of the hundreds of resumes I sent out and how I would hope beyond hope they would want me� kind of like the last kitten at the pet store. I also remember how disappointed I was when it didn�t work out. I wasn�t going to jump off a bridge or anything, but it still was not fun and I don�t like making anyone else feel that either. It must be done, though, so I bravely forge ahead� stopping every few minutes to add a sentence to a journal entry to help put off the inevitable for a few more seconds. I keep hoping I�ll get answering machines so I can just say my little speech and hang up quickly.

My stupid keyboard tray is broken. I�ve fixed part of it already, but the little slide out tray where the mouse goes is starting to break off. I thought of just asking if I could get a new one, but I can�t find one like mine in the Office Depot catalogue. Mine is really nifty because the wrist rest (say that 10 times fast) flips up and there is a little pencil tray inside. I keep quarters and chapstick in it, not pencils, but it is still nice to have. It�s also pretty sturdy and I can lean on it a little when I have to lean forward to read the computer monitor and continue typing at the same time. The ones that I�ve seen are a lot flimsier and wouldn�t be able to handle that, I think. This poor little thing is just made of pretty cheap plastic, and it is already at least six years old, so I�m not sure how much more fixing it can handle, so I�m going to have to ask for a new one soon. I think I�ll try to fix this one one more time and then see what happens.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�