current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Get the Hook
2005-02-01 - 4:26 p.m.

So, the TD at the theater I was just working for gave me a lovely present. It is a little chime ball like you find in Chinatown. The sound is supposed to bring peace and good chi to the space it is in. I hung it at work by my desk and it has turned into a human cat toy. I keep batting at it like those fishing rods you get for the cat and making it make its chimy noise. Wow, I think that is the most poorly constructed sentence I have ever written. It says what I want to say, though, so it�s staying.

Another friend of mine is pregnant. I�m really happy for her, especially because I know she and her husband have been trying for a while. It�s funny, too, because when we were in High School and Junior College she was adamant about how he didn�t want to have kids. She would talk about how she couldn�t understand why anyone would want a bunch of squalling brats ruining their life. I can�t help but tease her about it a little bit.

I feel like so many of the people around me are �growing up and settling down.� I am really so far from that place in my life. It is a little weird Part of me feels like that is what I should be doing too, but it really doesn�t feel right, not to mention that I really don�t have any of the pieces of that particular puzzle right now, so it would really be that much harder to put it together. I sort of think it�s because I�ve chosen, for now at least, this artist�s existence and that really doesn�t lend itself to being tied down, but at the same time, many of the folks who are becoming grownups are other theater folk. Granted a few are turning away from art/ theater and heading in other directions, but not all of them, so I know that isn�t a clincher. I think part of it is that I haven�t firmly decided this is the path I want to take. I don�t know that this argument is even making sense anymore, so I�ll just stop here. Basically, the point of it all is that in some ways I still feel like a kid, almost Peter Pan-ish, because I�m really not ready for the wedding and the house and the dog and the 2.5 kids, but at the same time there are all of these subtle outside influences telling me that I should be at least heading towards that by now. I just don�t want to� I don�t wanna wear a tie�Or a serious expression� In the Middle of July� Heh. The dog would be really nice, though. I would like to have a dog.

Well, now that we have reached the moment of cheesy musical theater lyrics finding their way into otherwise normal sentences, it is time to go before I start to� Dreeeeaaaam the Impossible Dreeeeaaam�. To fiiiight the Unbeatable fooooooe�

Get the Hook.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�