current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

The Circus of Life
2005-01-21 - 10:25 a.m.

Oh my lord. The company I work for is such a mess. As I said earlier, my coworker is leaving and I am moving into his place. This means we need to find someone else to take the open position, ideally before Co-worker splits. His last day is next Friday. I have been put, not necessarily in charge of, but at least at the organizational helm of finding the replacement. Now, it is a tall order, but not necessarily impossible, except management doesn�t want to use Craigslist or Backstage Jobs, or anything. NO, their brilliant idea for finding a new employee is to have me call my theater friends and find someone through that avenue only. WHAT?? I mean, sure, networking is a great way to find quality people, but we have a pretty major time constraint here. Not to mention, this is a total entry-level position and at this point most folks I know are not looking for entry level. So, I have called all of my friends and told every customer that I know that we are looking for someone. So far, no luck. One possible lead, but I know the guy, and while he would be great, he really isn�t looking for an 8-5. He would rather be freelancing.

So, if anyone out in the great, wide online diary world knows someone in the SF Bay Area with great computer skills and a working knowledge of theater lighting and lighting gear who wants an 8-5 day job, drop me a note. Though considering what I�ve written about the company here, I�m not sure anyone would offer up someone they actually LIKED for this. Oy.

Man, just when I thought things couldn�t get any weirder around here. Well, luckily, my direct supervisor realizes how lame this plan is so we are working on a Craigslist ad anyway. On top of everything else, Co-worker now seems to think that because he�s lame duck he no longer has to do ANY part of his job rather than the 1/10th he was doing before. Arg. One more week. One more week. One more week.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�