current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

A Cultural Throwdown
2005-01-18 - 9:08 p.m.

I just read about The 50 book challenge, and while it is a live journal thing, I have decided to take it on myself as well. So, I am going to try to read 50 books this year. Something tells me that won't be a problem.

So, I was supposed to start Jan 1, but I just found out about this today. Luckily for me, I started a book just before new years, so I'm set! In fact, I just finished it, so it is my first book. Yay!

Book 1: Kushiel's Dart by Jacqueline Carey

I liked the story and the characters, but it bugs me when a fantasy book is written in a world that is quite obviously OUR world (in this case Europe)just glossed over and the countries renamed. If you're going to the trouble to create a place for your fantasy world CREATE A PLACE for cry sakes. It pulls me out of the story everytime I'm reminded these places are "real," and not at all like how they are being described.

Other than that, though, I liked it a lot. It's also kinda dirty, which makes it fun. Definately enough to read the next book soon. I have a few others in line first.

So, for the rest of the 50 books, I'll probably just tack it on to the end of another entry since this is mostly just to help me keep track and see if I can do it.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�