current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Oh What a Night
2007-07-26 - 1:49 p.m.

It's quarter to two as I start this and I'm having trouble staying awake. I might have to go run around the block or something in a little while. I've gotten plenty of sleep this week, it really makes no sense at all.

I still don't have a copy of the last Harry Potter. I'm only throwing that out there so that those of you who have finished it know and don't spoil me too bad. I'm probably not going to get to read it for a couple of weeks- when someone else who already finished it loans me their copy. New books just aren't in the budget right now. Very little that doesn't involve eating, breathing and sleeping is in the budget right now.

I've been not so great about managing my money but I'm getting it back on track, it's just taking some time and more than a little belt tightening for the next couple of months. Also, my theater hiatus is getting a little modified to say "no long term commitments" rather than "no theater period." I've picked up a few shifts at The Dance Space to add to the income. I'm also taking on as much overtime as I can at the day job. Unfortunately, if I do too much I end up in another tax bracket and that just hurts my bottom line more than it helps. Oh well. It's still better than a sharp stick in the eye and I'll be glad for it come April.

I went to see Jersey Boys with my parents last night. It was so much fun. It's a really good musical (and I'm not usually a big fan of musicals in general.). I also loved the lighting, it felt really old school. Most of the lights on the rig were basic source 4s and PAR cans (I know!). There were color changers, of course, but only four inteligent lights that I could see and only one or two more that were probably in the electrics. The cycs were LED strips, which for me fall in between old school and fancy technology since they still work like the old style, they're just more energy efficent. Sort of like Source4 vs. 360Qs. At the same time, it felt really inventive, solid proof that flash and trash and falling back on fancy technology isn't always the best option. I love when my thoughts on that are confirmed, especially for something as big budget as this. It was also a really funny show, much more so than I expected. The actors also did this great thing, they let their voices start out sort of thin and cracky and had them get stronger and smoother as the show progrssed and the characters gained experience as perfomers. That must be so difficult. My parents both loved it, which is a feat because my dad is pretty hard to please. The Wednesday matinee crowd gave them a standing ovation. Anyway, long story short, two thumbs up.

I also saw Transformers this week, which was also good. Much better than I expected. Lots of things changed up and big things went BOOM! I didn't really remember anything from the cartoon other than that I used to watch it and liked it a lot, Optimus Prime and Megatron were the only two characters whos names I actually remembered (I could sing you the cartoon theme song right now, though. Go figure.). I think that worked to my benefit, though, since I wasn't looking for changes, I was just along for the ride, so to speak.

Other than that there isn't much to report. It's a quiet time here on the ol' ranch, I guess.


when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�