current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Ramble On
2006-05-12 - 4:41 p.m.

It is Friday. Thank goodness. I have two shows this weekend, but other than that it�s going to be pretty quiet. I have to read a bunch of scripts for a theater company. We have the play selection meeting on Monday and I�m pretty far behind. I�ll get through them, but it�ll probably be Sunday night before I finish. After Mother�s Day dinner, of course.

This week has been so busy. We have four really big orders going out today, all but one was very last minute and the one that wasn�t has changed significantly every day for the last week. It has been a pretty stressful week, as I�m sure was obvious. I�m pretty sure we did more business this week than most of last month. Why all at once, people? Spread out the events. Everyone will be happier. It�s a sunny weekend anyway, why keep everyone shut inside?

Oh my gosh, I am so ready to go home. I�m sitting at my desk and it feels like it�s about 7pm. Such a long week. Not really a bad week, just really busy and long.

I did get a wee bit of good news recently. Since 4th of July is on a Tuesday this year, my supervisor was able to convince our owner that it was silly to open up for the one day that has statistically been one of our worst sales days of the year. I therefore get a four-day weekend in July. Whatever shall I do with myself? I sort of want to head out of town or something, but I�m not sure how financially responsible that would be. We shall see. Maybe I�ll win the lottery that weekend and all of these worries will be moot. Heh.

I�m continuing on with my �bettering myself education plan.� I have started re-learning to touch type. There is a site online with drills to help you learn, and I�m doing pretty well. I keep switching around the �i� and the �o� and the �,� and the �.�, but other than that I�m realizing I really did used to know how to do this. I�m also remembering why it never stuck. The right pinky is pretty much the busiest finger on the keyboard, and thanks to my lovely dwarfed finger bones I have the smallest range of movement in that finger. I really can�t move it side to side the way I should be able to. It usually doesn�t matter all that much, but if I�m typing something with a lot of the symbol keys like �|� or �}� or �=� it slows me down a lot and my hand starts to hurt a lot faster. Why is this even a problem? Those aren�t used a lot. Well, no, unless you are trying to figure out Unix. Unix LOVES �|� and �}�. Oh well, I�ll make it work. Just like Tim Gunn, my hero.

I only have two weeks of school left. It will be nice to have my Saturdays back. I�m glad I took the class, but I�m not sure how soon I�ll take another one. I think I�m going to stick with online courses for a little while. Though, if I decide to stick with this Unix stuff there will be a couple of classes I will have to take in a lecture hall. Fortunately, unlike the Graphic Art curriculum, this is more of a program designed for people looking to get promoted, so almost all of the classes are online or in the evenings. We shall see, though, just how far I decide to go with all this. We shall see how far I get through my Photoshop book this summer. I looked into taking an intro to Maya class at BAYVC, it looks like a good start to the program, but it is $1300. Thirteen hundred freaking dollars. I know it�s a complex program, but seriously now, that�s more than a 15-unit semester at City College, in fact it�s the SAME as a 15-unit semester at SF State, and it�s just one two-day class. There has to be a decent �Classroom in a Book� type text for the program. Then all I need to do is get my grimy little mitts on the software. Honestly, though, I need to finish figuring out Photoshop first. One step at a time.

Woo hoo! One of our big, fancy pants customers needs pattern holders so I get to leave a few minutes early to drop them off! Bye!

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�