current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Me Time
2005-12-05 - 5:09 p.m.

Book # 44 finished. So� Very� Close... Must... Keep... Reading... 6... Books... To... Go� Anyway, #44 is The Sunday Philosophy Club by Alexander McCall Smith, the same guy who writes the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency books. I like the No. 1 Ladies better, but this was also a good book with a good mystery and fun characters. This one is set in Scotland instead of Botswana and the folks are much posher and no one got a 98% at the secretary college, but it is still very good and a fast read.

I had the best night home by myself last night. I ordered pizza and rented Sin City and House of Flying Daggers and bought a duraflame log and marshmallows and graham crackers and chocolate and I stayed up way too late eating s�mores and pizza and watching movies and drinking Diet Coke in my pajamas. I ate way too much and my stomach is a bit unhappy this morning, but I don�t care. I had a great night. As for the movies, well, I�m not sure how I feel about Sin City. Parts of it I really liked and once I got into the whole psudo noir thing they were doing I liked that too, and I really like the color thing they did, but I don�t know, parts of it I was totally into and other parts I was sitting there thinking �the hell?� I think I should watch it again. All I can really say is: Elijah Wood is creepy as hell. Oh, and Rory is in it! And she doesn�t mumble and she�s a hooker! Awesome.

The House of Flying Daggers is awesome. I don�t really understand what happened at the end, but it is a good movie, sort of a fucked up Romeo and Juliet. In Mandarin. With bad ass kung fu. And women who totally rock, unlike that passive aggressive twit Juliet. Anyway, I love Ziyi Zhang. She has this awesome expression she makes that basically says �Listen assholes I�m trying to do the honorable thing here and I have a plan of my own and I can take care of myself, so will you stupid boys please just stop getting in my way.� That girl can do no wrong in my book. I even liked her in Rush Hour 2.

I love quality time by myself, especially when it�s kinda cold and you don�t want to go out, and it�s Sunday, so you couldn�t stay that late anyway, and you really just want a hot shower and some junk food and the TV. I also love that I didn�t have to walk more than four blocks to get any of it. Well, to be fair, the pizza came to me, and that was further away, but everything else I got on my street. I also was able to clean up a bit. Nothing major, but while the movies were going I sorted through the magazines and threw out anything over four months old


when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�