current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Happy Birthday to Me!
2005-10-04 - 4:59 p.m.

Happy Birthday to me!! Friday was my 28th birthday. I went out on Friday with some friends of mine and my sister and had a really fun time. I hope everyone else had fun too. On Sunday I celebrated with my parents and grandmother. That was a good time as well. I still have leftover dinner and pineapple upside down cake, so I�m doing well food wise.

If you have never had pineapple upside down cake you need to eat it today. Right now. It is so yummy. In fact, even if you have had it, go eat one now anyway. I�ll wait.

I did feel rather old on my birthday, though. Everyone was all tuckered out by 12:30. In our defense, everyone had been at work all day, most of us starting between 8 and 9 in the morning. I still felt really, really old, though. Sigh. It did mean I was actually useful the next day, though, which was sort of nice. I had to work for part of the day, so the fact I wasn�t so hung over and tired that I thought I was going to be sick as I climbed up and down a two story ladder was a plus. Note to self: When you have to readjust lights in the roof of a theater, have someone else there to turn things on and off so you don�t have to climb up and down SEVEN times to fix five lights. I was so sweaty and gross by the end it wasn�t even funny. The best part? I had a half an hour to run home and change for the rededication ceremony where I was going to meet all the school bigwigs that pay my salary, including the Bishop. Yeah, that was interesting. Luckily I have my fail-safe outfit for these things. I found the cutest pink and black pinstriped suit about 6 months ago that hides many sins. It�s mostly just cheap polyester, but it doesn�t look it and it falls well and I can still run around in it if I have to, so all I had to do was worry about the frizz ball that is my hair. It looked ok, not great, but ok.

So, that was my weekend. Last night I had a meeting downtown which meant I was driving through Union Square at 5:30. Or, at least I was trying to drive through Union Square. It took me 20 minutes to go two blocks and then when I got to my turn I couldn�t turn. That was the huge backup. They had Ellis Street closed at rush hour on a Monday. I was trying to figure out what the hell was happening at the Hilton to justify this. I was thinking a double bill of Jesus Christ and the Buddha giving lectures on the meaning of life to every world leader would be about the minimum for this kind of disruption. I was wrong. I should have thought more logically. It was Hollywood�s fault. They are shooting the new Will Smith movie (�The Pursuit of Happyness� [sic.]) in the city and they have been closing down random streets throughout the city for it. The upside? The movie also stars Dan Castellaneta. That�s right, Homer Simpson himself. I am surprised they got the go ahead to shut down downtown during rush hour, though. Which City Planner�s car do I have to egg for that?

At least it isn�t a Cable Car overturned on Battery St (where there are NO Cable Car lines) like happened during the Hulk. Filming movies in SF is an interesting set up no matter what, though. Some of the best tech crew stories I ever heard are from when Rent was filming at Sixth and Market (one of the nastiest neighborhoods in the city) They regularly had to stop and do additional takes because random junkies would just wander onscreen in the middle of the scene. Hee.

Time to go home, so I�ll stop here.


when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�