current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Books and Other Stuff
2005-08-08 - 5:02 p.m.

Book # 26 and 27 complete. Book #26 is Sex, Drugs, and Coco Puffs by Chuck Klosterman. It�s a collection of essays, mostly about some aspect of current pop culture. I liked it. He has a different take on most stuff and is very funny. I recommend if you are the essay collection type person.

Book #27 is A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book the Second: The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket. I love the Lemony Snicket books. I love how he writes and the way he explains words. This is more kiddie lit, but I like how not condescending it is but he still explains all the big words in a very funny way, I just like it. The grown ups in these books need to smarten up a bit, though. Those kids are going to take over the world if they can ever shake Count Olaf long enough.

I really need to clean my room. It�s getting to the point where I�m thinking I have gremlins because things keep disappearing on me. It�s hard, though because I have yet to find a system of organization that actually works for me. I guess I just need to try again. I also need to get off my butt and get drafting on Cuckoo�s Nest. A friend of mine who does scenic design almost exclusively gave me some good ideas to speed up the process and so it will be a little less daunting than I thought, but that doesn�t change that it all needs to be done. I have a class tonight, but I should be able to really get a bit of it done tomorrow. I think I will set up my board and everything tonight so I have no excuses tomorrow. I am so very lazy sometimes.

I am still hungry even though I just got back from lunch. Arg. I didn�t eat very much because I really wasn�t hungry when I went to lunch but now I am. I wish my stupid body would just get on a schedule already.

Peter Jennings died. That�s really sad. He was just a little bit older than my parents and he died of lung cancer. That is a bit disconcerting. Now, granted, I�m not a Peter Jennigns groupie or anything, but as long as I have been watching the news he has been on and now he won�t. Actually, it seems like we are beginning to have quite a turnover happening among the TV news set. Is Geraldo next? We can only hope (not that he will die, of course, just retire.). I know Jennings took a leave of absence, and I�m afraid I don�t know who�s been covering for him, but I wonder if that person will become permanent. I need to figure that out. The Daily Show should prove interesting tonight. I think this is one of the most disjointed paragraphs I�ve ever written.

Oh, yeah, you remember the cousin who just got engaged a week or so ago? She wants to have the wedding the first week of November. Yup, in three months. Her parents are a little concerned about this, especially because she wants to get married outside in her hometown where they have had snow at Halloween before. Also, she doesn�t live there anymore, so it seems like she wants her parents to do all the planning. Yeah, her parents are much more lenient than mine. Mine would just laugh at me if I suggested this, but hey, whatever works.

Anyway, it is 5 so I must go.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�