current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

New Year Madness
2005-01-10 - 11:36 a.m.

It�s been almost two weeks since I posted anything here! That is completely unacceptable, especially for the new year. I�ve sort of been at a loss for words lately, though, so there hasn�t been much to say.

I have been trying to get organized at home this week. I went to Ikea and bought some nifty stuff to help with that, including a stand for my printer so it doesn�t have to sit on the floor all alone and dusty anymore. The drawers in my desk are up next. I really need to figure out what is the best way to organize those things. It really can�t help that I work out of my dad�s old desk from Elementary school. Yeah, I know. But I really like it and it�s the perfect size for my room and it�s left handed, which is hard to find and it�s what I�m used to. But the drawers aren�t exactly laid out for a big-person�s needs. I�ve also gotten very lazy with my filing system. I think I�ll start scooping out garage sales for a regular one or two drawer filing cabinet. Everything is all crammed into that little desk and it just makes everything too hard to find. It has felt good, though to clean everything out. Rather liberating.

After the desk I need to move on to the closet. I have so much crap in there that I never wear because it doesn�t fit, or it�s so old it�s falling apart, or I don�t like it but someone gave it to me so I feel guilty just throwing it out, etc, etc. I really need to get over my sentimentality about such things. I also need to start being rather brutal about whether or not I will actually ever wear things in my closet. I keep buying pretty clothes that either don�t fit quite right or else are things I would never have the self-confidence to actually wear out in public. Maybe I should work on that confidence thing too. Maybe I should work on the going out thing, heh.

I think the whole New Year thing is making me very introspective this year, which is rather unusual for me. I don�t usually start taking stock until my birthday, but maybe because I feel like I�m at a crossroad anyway it�s amping up the �get my shit together� syndrome. I even made a resolution this year, which I don�t think I�ve ever done. I have resolved that I will have my portfolio finished and presentable by March. That�s a big thing. It is going to take many an hour in front of the mighty G4 and many a more hour in front of the drafting table to get all this figured out. I think I have also inadvertently resolved to learn Vectorworks because CAD is the only hope for me finishing even most of the drafting by March.

Wow, this is really boring, organizing my bedroom and talking shop! Happy New Year indeed! I�ll come up with something more interesting a little later on. Maybe I�ll even remember a funny story or something to share. Lala.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�