current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Poor, Unfortunate Soul
2004-12-27 - 11:02 a.m.

So, I find that I am at a turning point in my life, an impasse if you will. I'm not really sure what the problem is, though, and that is, well, the problem. There are many things in my life right now whuch aren't perfect but nothing is so horrible that it is intollerable.

Ok, no, my job completely sucks and I know I want to change that but I'm not sure what I want to change it to. I've been working in one industry for so long that I'm not sure how to find a place in a new one, or if I even want a new industry. I can't figure out if it's just this job that's bugging me or if entertainment as a whole is wearing me down to my nubs. If I want to get out of entertainment, where the hell do I go? I've been doing this so long I don't really know anything else at this point. Sure, I have your standard typing pool creds, but I'm not sure I want to go from starving, overworked, exploited artist to mindless, exploited drone either. There has got to be a middle ground somewhere. Where is Marx when you need him?

Ah, le sigh. Poor me.

Anyway, Christmas went well. A lot of people were on hand and that is always a bit much, but it is still nice to see everyone and have some fun. Holidays are always a bit odd, though. Everyone tryig to get in a years worth of visiting in 48 hours. It kind of went the same with my friends. Everyone wanted to get together the weekend before Christmas. It was kind of frustrating. I want to see everyone but I can't be in four places at once. We all live in the same city, there really isn't any reason we can't hang out AFTER Christmas. Oh well. Again, I am complaining when things worked themselves out just fine. Such is my way right now.

So, I'm reading The DaVinci Code right now (I think I'm the last person on the planet) and I like it, I think. I'm liking the story, but Dan Brown's writing style is starting to get to me. I understand wanting to raise suspense by not revealing everything right away, but give me a break. You can practically hear the "Dun Dun DUNNNNNNN!!" Music sometime when the charater eludes to some "great surprise" then the chapter suddenly ends. That really bugs me It makes me feel like I'm reading a soap opera. Also, you mean to tell me that french twit cut all ties to her grandfather and refused to speak to him for TEN YEARS even when he said it was insanely important because she CAUGHT HIM HAVING SEX!?!?! When she was a grown adult? Give me a break. She turned her back on her only remaining family member because she was squicked out? Bleh. I like the crazy British guy, though so he's picking things up for me now. I also like the premise and while Langdon isn't exactly nocking my socks off he really isn't bothering me either, so he's ok. Basically, the jury is still out on the story until I get to the end, but so far characterization is getting about a C-.

when we last left our heros� - in our next exciting installment�